MessageBird Logo
Mobile menu

BukuWarung optimierte seine OTP-Konversionsraten um 15 %.

BukuWarung is a fintech company and super-app offering digital bookkeeping, payments, stock management, and other related solutions to micro, small, and medium enterprises (MSMEs) in Indonesia. Boasting a customer base of 6.5 million businesses (and counting), BukuWarung is used by merchants across all districts in Indonesia.

They help merchants become more efficient and organized by enabling them to digitize their offline processes. BukuWarung is leading the digitization of the MSMEs in Indonesia.
OVO Energy Logo
Kanäle
Eingesetzte Produkte
WhatsApp
Conversations API
SMS
Indonesien
200,000+
Händlerüberprüfungen pro Monat
97%
Zustellrate
+15%
Verbesserung der OTP-Konversionen
Bereit für den Einstieg?
Vertrieb kontaktieren

Herausforderung

Als Marktführer in seinem Bereich ist BukuWarung für Millionen von indonesischen Kleinst-, Klein- und mittleren Unternehmen (KKMU), die ihre täglichen Geschäftsvorgänge digitalisieren wollen, die erste Wahl. Das Unternehmen wollte den Lieferprozess optimieren und die Kosten für Einmalpasswörter (OTPs) senken. Aus geschäftlicher Sicht war die Optimierung dieses Prozesses unerlässlich. Wenn Benutzer nicht in der Lage waren, sich zu registrieren oder Transaktionen schnell zu bestätigen, bedeutete dies, dass die Einnahmen des Unternehmens direkt beeinträchtigt wurden.

Das Unternehmen erhält monatlich mehr als 200.000 Anfragen zur Eröffnung neuer Konten von Händlern über verschiedene Smartphones und Mobilgeräte aus ganz Indonesien (einschließlich abgelegener Gebiete mit langsamer Internetverbindung).

Jedes Mal, wenn ein neuer Benutzer versuchte, sich zu registrieren oder einzuloggen, gab BukuWarung ihm die Möglichkeit, sein OTP über WhatsApp oder SMS zu erhalten. Das Produktteam wollte testen, welcher der beiden Kanäle in Bezug auf die OTP-Zustellbarkeit und die Konversionen (d. h. den Anteil an Benutzern, die ihre Einmalpasswörter korrekt eingeben) am besten funktioniert. Um dieses Experiment jedoch durchführen und den Prozess optimieren zu können, galt es für das Produktteam jedoch, einen geeigneten Anbieter finden.

Lösung

Es ging BukuWarung darum, die Zustellung zu testen und die Konversionsraten (d.h. die Anzahl der Übermittlungen, die dazu führen, dass die Benutzer ihre korrekten OTPs eingeben) für WhatsApp- und SMS-One-Time-Passwörter zu optimieren. Nachdem BukuWarung mehrere Optionen geprüft hatte, beschloss das Unternehmen, dieses Experiment mit Hilfe von MessageBird durchzuführen. Dank der Lösungen von MessageBird konnte man mit mehreren Kanälen und den richtigen Reporting-Tools arbeiten und war gleichzeitig kostengünstig.

Das Experiment war ein A/B-Test. Die Hälfte der Nutzer, die neue Konten beantragt haben, haben ihre OTP per SMS erhalten, während die andere Hälfte sie über WhatsApp erhalten hat.

Da WhatsApp in Indonesien ein beliebter Kommunikationskanal ist, lautete die anfängliche Hypothese, dass er die SMS übertreffen würde. Überraschenderweise zeigte sich das Gegenteil, denn dank der Beziehungen von MessageBird zu den Mobilfunkanbietern in der Region übertrafen die Konversionsraten von SMS die von WhatsApp.

Wie es aussieht

Auf der Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse gelangte man zu dem Schluss, dass SMS der wichtigste Kanal sein sollte. Gleichzeitig sollte aber auch WhatsApp nicht völlig außer Acht gelassen werden. Das Produktteam war sich einig, dass der Verifizierungsprozess am besten durch folgende Schritte optimiert werden sollte:

  • First, send the OTP through SMS.
  • Then, use WhatsApp as the “fallback solution” in case the user isn’t able to provide the correct OTP received through SMS.

Wenn ein Benutzer sein korrektes OTP nicht innerhalb von 30 Sekunden nach Erhalt per SMS angibt, hat er die Möglichkeit, es erneut per SMS oder WhatsApp anzufordern.

Ergebnisse

Mit Hilfe von MessageBird konnte BukuWarung die OTP-Konversionen um rund 15 % auf etwa 97 % steigern.

Das Unternehmen ist nunmehr imstande, jeden Monat Hunderttausende von Händlern reibungslos zu verifizieren. Das ist keine kleine Leistung, vor allem wenn man bedenkt, dass viele dieser Händler über abgelegene Regionen Indonesiens verstreut sind und unterschiedliche Mobilgeräte benutzen.

„Wir hatten uns für MessageBird entschieden, weil wir dank der Plattform schneller mit verschiedenen Kanälen experimentieren konnten. Das Unternehmen hat auch eine stärkere Präsenz und gute Beziehungen zu den Fluggesellschaften in der Region. Dies war entscheidend für die Optimierung der OTP-Zustellbarkeit und der Konversionen.“
Chinmay Agrawal,Product Manager
Cookie Settings

MessageBird Logo
Mobile menu

BukuWarung optimized OTP conversion rates by 15%

BukuWarung is a fintech company and super-app offering digital bookkeeping, payments, stock management, and other related solutions to micro, small, and medium enterprises (MSMEs) in Indonesia. Boasting a customer base of 6.5 million businesses (and counting), BukuWarung is used by merchants across all districts in Indonesia.

They help merchants become more efficient and organized by enabling them to digitize their offline processes. BukuWarung is leading the digitization of the MSMEs in Indonesia.
OVO Energy Logo
Channels
Products used
WhatsApp
Conversations API
SMS
Indonesia
200,000+
merchant verifications per month
97%
Delivery rate
+15%
improvement in OTP conversions
Ready to get started?
Contact sales

Challenge

Being market leaders in their space, BukuWarung is the go-to mobile app for millions of Indonesian MSMEs looking to digitize their day-to-day business processes. The company wanted to optimize the delivery process and reduce costs for one-time passwords (OTPs). Improving this process was vital from a business perspective. Users not being able to sign up or confirm transactions swiftly meant that their revenue was being hurt directly.

The company receives more than 200,000 monthly requests to open new accounts from merchants with different smartphones and mobile devices, spread all over Indonesia (including remote areas with slow internet connectivity).

Anytime a new user attempted to sign up or log in, BukuWarung gave them the option to obtain their OTP through WhatsApp or SMS. Their product team wanted to test which of the two channels worked best in terms of OTP deliverability and conversions (i.e. users putting in their correct one-time passwords). However, to run this experiment and optimize their process, they had to find a suitable vendor.

Solution

BukuWarung’s goal was to test the delivery and optimize conversion rates (i.e., instances of deliveries resulting in users putting in their correct OTPs) for WhatsApp and SMS one-time passwords. After evaluating several options, BukuWarung opted for MessageBird to help them run this experiment. MessageBird’s solutions allowed them to work with multiple channels and the right reporting tools, while being cost-effective.

The experiment was an A/B test. One-half of the users who requested new accounts received their OTPs through SMS, whereas the other half received them over WhatsApp.

Since WhatsApp is a popular communication channel in Indonesia, the initial hypothesis was that it would outperform SMS. Surprisingly, the results showed otherwise, with SMS outperforming WhatsApp conversion rates, thanks to MessageBird relationships with carriers in the region.

How it looks

Based on these findings, they concluded that SMS should be the primary channel. However, at the same time, they didn’t want to completely disregard WhatsApp. The product team agreed that the most optimized verification process would be to:

  • First, send the OTP through SMS.
  • Then, use WhatsApp as the “fallback solution” in case the user isn’t able to provide the correct OTP received through SMS.

If a user does not provide their correct OTP within 30 seconds of receiving it via SMS, they get the option to request it again via SMS or WhatsApp.

Results

With the help of MessageBird, BukuWarung was able to increase the OTP conversions by ~15% to approximately 97%. 

The company is now able to smoothly verify hundreds of thousands of merchants every month. This is no small feat, especially considering that many of those merchants are scattered across remote regions of Indonesia and use different mobile devices.

"We picked MessageBird because their platform helped us experiment faster with different channels. They also have a deeper presence and great relationship with carriers in the region. This was critical to optimize OTP deliverability and conversions."
Chinmay Agrawal, Product Manager
Cookie Settings